Seniors: Bryan Berend, Sean Bridenbaugh, Brett Harrison, Shane Joychan, Kayvon Rashidi, Jonathon Vargo

Juniors: Mitchell Belanger, George McIntyre, Matt Nicholas, Michael Yurko

Sophomores: Nic Baumgartner, Robert Cernak, David Ciccarelli, Ryan Dillon, Matt Messana, Cole Tartar, Connor Teevens, Kevin Wegienka

Freshmen: Bobby Dorigo-Jones, Conor Gibney,  James Haubert, Steven Jakubik, Evan Joseph, Rahul Kodali, Joe Kristofik, Hunter McDaniel, Palmer Pawlusiak, Aaron Walters  

Head Coach: Jason Jones

Assistant Coaches: Joseph Polzin, Benjamin Herman

The Catholic Central Varsity Academic Team finished off the 2008-2009 season with an impressive showing at the NAQT National Tournament in Chicago, Illinois.  The team competed against some of the best academic teams in the country at this invitation only tournament and made it all the way to the semifinals, finishing fourth in a field of 196 teams.  Representing Catholic Central’s Varsity A team were seniors Brett Harrison, Jonathon Vargo, Kayvon Rashidi, Bryan Berend, Sean Bridenbaugh, and junior Michael Yurko.

The team also brough honor to Catholic Central by winning the Class A State Championship.  CC defeated Grosse Pointe North High School in the finals of the state tournament by a score of 630-450.  The victory represented the fifteenth state championship CC’s Academic Teams have won in its 25 year history and the eleventh in the last fifteen years.  Representing CC for the State Championship were seniors Brett Harrison, Jonathon Vargo, Kayvon Rashidi, and junior Michael Yurko.

The varsity A team finished its season with an overall record of 170 wins and 30 losses.  The A team brought home thirteen individual tournament titles and the freshmen and junior varsity teams earned seven more, for a combined total of 20 tournament victories in four different states for Catholic Central Academic Teams.

Many Catholic Central Academic Team players were honored for individual recognition during the course of the regular season.  Academic Team members honored for individual performance recognition included seniors Bryan Berend, Kayvon Rashidi, and captain Brett Harrison, sophomores Ryan Dillon, Connor Teevens, and Cole Tarter, and freshmen Bobby Dorigo-Jones.

A Team

  • Overall Record 170-30
  • Tournament Wins: 11
  • MHSCT State Champions
  • 4th at NAQT HSNCT
  • 13th at PACE NSC

B Team

  • Overall Record: 46-21
  • 75th at NAQT HSNCT

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s